Short descriptions of the 9 Enneagram types

Type 1

Type One in the Enneagram is called “The Perfectionist” or “The Reformer,” embodies a principled and idealistic approach to life. Ones are driven by an inner moral compass and a desire to create a world that aligns with their ethical standards. Striving for perfection, Ones are diligent, responsible, and self-disciplined. However, their pursuit of flawlessness can lead to self-criticism and a critical outlook on others. Balancing their desire for improvement with self-compassion is a key aspect of their journey, as they embrace the inherent imperfections of life.

Type 2

Type Two in the Enneagram is called “The Helper” or “The Giver.” Twos are like caring friends who always want to help and make others happy. They are kind, generous, and enjoy taking care of people. Sometimes, though, they may forget to take care of themselves because they’re so focused on others. Twos learn and grow by realizing that it’s okay to ask for help and take time for themselves. They have big hearts and love creating connections with the people around them.

Type 3

Type Three in the Enneagram is called “The Achiever” or “The Performer.” Threes are like go-getters who love to set goals and succeed. They’re hardworking, confident, and enjoy being recognized for their accomplishments. Threes are good at getting things done, but sometimes they might focus too much on success and what others think of them. Learning and growing for Threes often means finding a balance between achieving goals and valuing themselves for who they are, not just what they accomplish. They bring a lot of energy and positivity to whatever they do.

Type 4

Type Four in the Enneagram is called “The Individualist” or “The Romantic.” Fours are like creative souls who love expressing themselves in unique ways. They are sensitive, introspective, and often feel a deep range of emotions. Fours appreciate beauty and have a keen sense of individuality. However, sometimes they might struggle with feeling different or not understood. Growth means embracing their uniqueness while also appreciating the positive aspects of life. They bring a special kind of creativity and depth to the world around them.

Type 5

Type Five in the Enneagram is called “The Thinker” or “The Observer.” Fives are like curious minds who love to learn and understand the world. They are thoughtful, analytical, and enjoy spending time in their own minds. Fives can be private and may need time alone to recharge. They are great problem-solvers but might sometimes feel overwhelmed by too much activity. For Fives to grow, it’s about finding a balance between their love for knowledge and connecting with others. They bring a special kind of wisdom and insight to the people around them.

Type 6

Type Six in the Enneagram is called “The Loyalist” or “The Friend.” Sixes are like trustworthy pals who value safety and security. They are loyal, responsible, and often think about what could go wrong to be prepared. Sometimes, they might worry a bit too much. For Sixes to grow, it’s about finding confidence in their abilities and trusting others. They bring a sense of reliability and support to their friends and communities, making sure everyone feels safe and cared for.

Type 7

Type Seven in the Enneagram is called “The Enthusiast” or “The Adventurer.” Sevens are like happy explorers who love to have fun and try new things. They are energetic, optimistic, and always looking for exciting experiences. Sevens enjoy staying positive, but sometimes they might avoid difficult feelings. For Sevens to grow, it’s about finding a balance between fun and facing challenges. They bring a lot of joy and enthusiasm to their lives and the lives of those around them.

Type 8

Type Eight in the Enneagram is called “The Challenger” or “The Leader.” Eights are like strong leaders who value control and protecting others. They are confident, assertive, and often take charge in situations. Eights might sometimes be seen as intense, but they have a big heart for justice. For Eights to grow, it’s about using their strength to empower others and being open to vulnerability. They bring a powerful and protective energy to their relationships and are often the ones to stand up for what they believe is right.

Type 9

Type Nine in the Enneagram is called “The Peacemaker” or “The Easygoing Friend.” Nines are like calm and easy-to-be-around individuals who value harmony. They are easygoing, accepting, and often go with the flow. Nines might avoid conflict to keep things peaceful. For Nines to grow, it’s about finding their own voice and engaging more fully in life. They bring a sense of tranquility and unity to their relationships, making sure everyone feels at ease and connected.

Build shared vision for your business

Have a look at our strategic planning process